top of page


The Early Years are the foundation upon which children's future learning are built. At Booth Wood our aim is that children discover the satisfaction and great enjoyment of being interested and involved in the many learning opportunities available to them. In so doing they will develop the self-belief and 'can do' attitude which will enable them to become successful lifelong learners.


The Reception Year is the final phase of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (2014).

At the heart of the Curriculum are four guiding principles:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, confident and self-assured.

  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments

  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS 2014) requirement for learning and development is made up of seven areas:


The Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 


The Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Art and Design


 At Booth Wood the Curriculum is delivered through creative, play based learning opportunities.

bottom of page